Lucy and the rocket dog
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Contributors:
Arnaldo, Monica, illustrator.
Published:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, [2017].
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
pages cm
Rating:
3-7.
Status:
MCPLD Central Children's
jF BUCKINGH Will
Description
The unforgettable story of the bond between a budding scientist and her beloved dog, perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and See You In the Cosmos . Lucy loves space. She loves to gaze up at the stars and bask in space's bigness and its here, there, and everywhereness. She loves it so much that she built a rocket ship in her backyard, hoping that one day she can use it to explore space herself. The ship is just Prototype I, though, so it's not ready to carry anyone into orbit yet. Or so she thinks. Laika doesn't give much thought to space--she is a dog, after all. The thing that Laika loves the most is Lucy. She loves Lucy so much that, one evening, she wanders into Prototype I looking for her--and is promptly launched into space. While Laika takes off on an intergalactic adventure, Lucy begins a lifelong scientific quest to bring her dog home. Told from the two friends' alternating perspectives and, in turns, heartbreaking and hilarious, this tale will win over anyone who has ever loved a pet, or who has looked at the stars and wondered just what might be going on in the here, there, and everywhereness. A Library Information Technology Association Excellence in Children's & Young Adult Science Fiction Notable Book "I wish I had this book when I was a kid! It brings you on a fun adventure through the universe and sneaks in some fascinating science along the way."--Emily Calandrelli, Correspondent on Bill Nye Saves the World "Reminiscent of Roald Dahl's style . . . . For those who might enjoy a dog book, a science book, or just a good story."-- Kirkus "Readers who have ever loved a dog and tinkerers who dream of leaving the prototype stage of design will enjoy this tale of friendship and improbable interstellar canine time-bending."-- SLJ
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
MCPLD Central Children's
jF BUCKINGH Will
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Bemis Children's
J FICTION BUCKINGH
On Shelf
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Street Date:
1708
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780399554322, 0399554327, 9780399554339 (lib. bdg.), 0399554335 (lib. bdg.)
Lexile measure:
900

Notes

Description
Budding scientist Lucy builds a rocket ship and accidentally sends her beloved dog, Laika, into space.
Target Audience
3-7.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Buckingham, W., & Arnaldo, M. (2017). Lucy and the rocket dog. New York: Alfred A. Knopf.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Buckingham, Will. and Monica, Arnaldo. 2017. Lucy and the Rocket Dog. New York: Alfred A. Knopf.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Buckingham, Will. and Monica, Arnaldo, Lucy and the Rocket Dog. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Buckingham, Will.,, and Monica Arnaldo. Lucy and the Rocket Dog. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
337bf497-adb1-46b6-0896-38c943ad6279
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeNov 08, 2019 01:25:50 PM
Last File Modification TimeNov 08, 2019 01:28:30 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 08, 2019 01:26:01 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02526nam a22005658i 4500
001964295280
008160801s2017    nyu    c      000 1 eng  
00520170915000000.0
003SKY
1001 |a Buckingham, Will.,|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/nb2007020152|e author.
7001 |a Arnaldo, Monica,|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2014136190|e illustrator.
650 0|a Dogs|v Juvenile fiction.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008102357
650 0|a Space ships|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85125954|v Juvenile fiction.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001687
650 0|a Space and time|v Juvenile fiction.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2010112514
655 7|a Science fiction.|2 lcgft|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026529
020 |a 9780399554322
020 |a 0399554327
020 |a 9780399554339 (lib. bdg.)
020 |a 0399554335 (lib. bdg.)
05000|a PZ7.B8799|b Lu 2017
08200|a [Fic]|2 23
010 |a 2016018144
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2019.02
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2018.06
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2018.01
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.b in 2017.09
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.click in 2017.06
995 |a Initial Bemis load m2btab.test019 in 2019.02
520 |a Budding scientist Lucy builds a rocket ship and accidentally sends her beloved dog, Laika, into space.
5212 |a 3-7.
264 1|a New York :|b Alfred A. Knopf,|c [2017]
77608|i Online version:|a Buckingham, Will, author.|t Lucy and the rocket dog|d New York : Alfred A. Knopf, [2017]|z 9780399554346|w (DLC) 2016056702
300 |a pages cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
385 |n age|a Children|2 lcdgt
24510|a Lucy and the rocket dog /|c by Will Buckingham ; illustrations by Monica Arnaldo.
015 |a GBB7E8517|2 bnb
042 |a lcac|a pcc
049 |a RRYA
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d SKYRV
263 |a 1708
948 |a MARCIVE COMP, Feb 28, 2018
948 |a MARCIVE Comp, May 22, 2018
948 |a MARCIVE Q4, 2017
998 |e -|a be|a mp|a mpm|a mpmj
907 |a .b54523904
989 |1 .i110812839|b 1090061057733|d mpmj|g -|m |h 6|x 1|t 2|i 2|j 56|k 170822|o -|a jF BUCKINGH Will|u jF BUCKINGH Will1251090061057733mpmjn$16.99p56-BTnas099
989 |1 .i124232437|b 31813006116882|d bechi|g -|m |h 1|x 0|t 1|i 2|j 300|k 190216|o -|a J FICTION BUCKINGH