The boys in the boat: nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(22)
4 star
 
(6)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, A part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2013.
Format:
Large Print
Edition:
Large Print edition.
Physical Desc:
743 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
Status:
Description
For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's "Seabiscuit" and "Unbroken," the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics""Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936. The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together--a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism. Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, "The Boys in the Boat "is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's "The Amateurs."

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
MCPLD Central Large Print
Large Print 797.12 B877b
Due May 8, 2020
Location
Call Number
Status
Bemis Large Print
LP 797.123 BROWN,DA
On Shelf
Buena Vista Large Print Fic
LP 797.12 Bro
On Shelf
Summit-Breck Large Print
LP 797.12 BRO
On Shelf
Summit-Silver Large Print
LP 797.12 BRO
On Shelf
Vail Public Library Large Print
LTB 797.12 BRO
Due May 1, 2020
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781410459541, 1410459543
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 8.4, 27 Points
Lexile measure:
1260

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Brown, D. J. (2013). The boys in the boat: nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics. Large Print edition. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, A part of Gale, Cengage Learning.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Brown, Daniel James, 1951-. 2013. The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold At the 1936 Berlin Olympics. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, A part of Gale, Cengage Learning.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Brown, Daniel James, 1951-, The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold At the 1936 Berlin Olympics. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, A part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Brown, Daniel James. The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold At the 1936 Berlin Olympics. Large Print edition. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, A part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2013. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
e6bfcbd5-647b-3d44-b179-6a7beb4fea63
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeMar 18, 2020 05:22:08 PM
Last File Modification TimeMar 18, 2020 05:27:08 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMar 29, 2020 08:44:03 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03123cam a22005298i 4500
001837180176
00520130723014847.0
008130722s2013    re04     b    000 0deng  
1001 |a Brown, Daniel James,|d 1951-|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n82252973
650 0|a Rowing|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85115565|z United States|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n78095330|x History.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99005024
61020|a University of Washington|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79054596|x Rowing|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh00007671|x History.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99005024
650 0|a Rowers|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85115564|z United States|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n78095330|v Biography.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh99001237
61120|a Olympic Games|n (11th :|d 1936 :|c Berlin, Germany)|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n85136486
650 0|a Rowing|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh85115565|x Social aspects|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh00002758|z United States.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n78095330
655 0|a Large type books.
650 7|a SPORTS & RECREATION / Olympics.|2 bisacsh
655 7|a Biographies.|2 lcgft|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026049
250 |a Large Print edition.
020 |a 9781410459541|q (large print)|q (hardback)
020 |a 1410459543|q (large print)|q (hardback)
05010|a GV796|b .B76 2013
08200|a 797.12/30973|2 23
084 |a SPO058000|2 bisacsh
092 |a LP|a 797.123|b BRO
010 |a 2013010819
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2017.08
995 |a Initial Bemis load m2btab.test019 in 2019.02
504 |a Includes bibliographical references.
264 1|a Waterville, Maine :|b Thorndike Press, A part of Gale, Cengage Learning,|c 2013.
300 |a 743 pages (large print) ;|c 23 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
24514|a The boys in the boat|h [text (large print)] :|b nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics /|c Daniel James Brown.
035 |a (DLC)17820748
035 |a (DLC)2013010819
043 |a n-us---|a n-us-wa
948 |a MARCIVE August, 2017
948 |a MARCIVE extract Aug 5, 2017
998 |e -|f eng|a be|a bv|a gc|a gcs|a mp|a mpm|a su|a sub|a sus|a vl
907 |a .b38659311
989 |1 .i77476876|b 1160002608382|d vllp|g -|m 200501|h 43|x 1|t 2|i 11|j 62|k 130725|o -|s LTB|a 797.12|r BRO
989 |1 .i78115218|b 1090010469119|d mpmal|g -|m 200508|h 59|x 6|t 2|i 16|j 169|k 130815|o -|s Large Print|a 797.12|r B877b
989 |1 .i79439019|b 1200002007167|d suslp|g -|m |h 60|x 4|t 0|i 15|j 62|k 130903|o -|s LP|a 797.12|r BRO
989 |1 .i99780744|b 1200002186561|d sublp|g -|m |h 26|x 1|t 0|i 10|j 62|k 150930|o -|s LP|a 797.12|r BRO
989 |1 .i102940344|b 3120200063464V|d bvalf|g -|m |h 10|x 0|t 0|i 1|j 62|k 160519|o -|s LP|a 797.12|r Bro
989 |1 .i123693111|b 31813005101810|d belar|g -|m |h 17|x 1|t 1|i 3|j 300|k 190216|o -|a LP 797.123 BROWN,DA