Coming home to Jerusalem: a personal journey

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster,
Pub. Date:
[2000]
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Under the Tuscan Sun and Peter Mayle's popular portraits of Provence, an American woman recounts her five-year stay in Israel with candor, wit, and a keen eye for the cultural and political undercurrents of her adopted home.

Wendy Orange and her family settled in Israel in the 1990s, and, despite language barriers, household dramas, homesickness, and a difficult job search, Orange eventually found herself at home. Coming Home to Jerusalem is the story of the world she discovered, the people behind the politics, and the deep-seated ideals obscured behind divisive ideologies.

Her sojourn brings her into contact with famous authors, obscure artists, Evangelical teachers, American-Israeli housewives, and citizens weary of the turbulent life Orange finds so fascinating. As a reporter for an American magazine, she travels to remote parts of Israel and into the Palestinian territories, adventures that give her a broader picture of the age-old conflicts that inform the opinionsof peaceniks and young soldiers, downtrodden refugees and elite politicians on both sides of the cultural divide. Her portraits illuminate every

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780684869513
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID6f3869c2-04a8-a0b6-f11f-147bc4c384a6
Grouping Titlecoming home to jerusalem a personal journey
Grouping Authororange wendy
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-01-01 01:10:20AM
Last Indexed2019-11-17 03:45:12AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorOrange, Wendy, 1943-
author_displayOrange, Wendy
available_at_mesaMCPLD Central Library
detailed_location_mesaMCPLD Central Non-Fiction
display_description
format_category_mesaBooks
format_mesaBook
id6f3869c2-04a8-a0b6-f11f-147bc4c384a6
isbn9780684869513
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b16733836.i21447317MCPLD Central Non-Fiction915.6944 O63c1falsefalseOn Shelfmpmnf
itype_mesaAdult non-fiction
last_indexed2019-11-17T10:45:12.67Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_mesa915.6944 O63c
owning_library_mesaMesa County Libraries
owning_location_mesaMCPLD Central Library
primary_isbn9780684869513
publishDate2000
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b16733836BookBooksEnglishSimon & Schuster, [2000]304 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_mesa
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b16733836.i21447317On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue144, 145, 141, 142, 143
subject_facetArab-Israeli conflict -- 1993-
Autobiographies
Biographies
Israel -- Ethnic relations
Jews, American -- Jerusalem -- Biography
Journalists -- Israel -- Biography
Orange, Wendy, -- 1943-
title_displayComing home to Jerusalem : a personal journey
title_fullComing home to Jerusalem : a personal journey / Wendy Orange
title_shortComing home to Jerusalem
title_suba personal journey
topic_facetArab-Israeli conflict
Ethnic relations
Jews, American
Journalists
Orange, Wendy